Skip to content


June 18, 2012

The Annual State Meeting of Arkansas Extension Homemakers Council took place June 5 – 7, 2012, at the  Hot SpringsConvention Center.  The meeting was fantastic and a great celebration of the 100 Year Anniversary of Extension Homemakers in Arkansas. 

                                                                                                                                   Picture:  Sally Patterson, Parliamentarian; David Jacobs, District Director, Ouachita District; and Phyllis Pipkin, President. 

Over 600 people attended the Reception and Gala Dinner on Wednesday night  June 6th and speakers for the dinner spoke highly of the accomplishments of AEHC during its 100 years of existence.  Guest speakers included:  Dr. David Berry, M.D., Senior Vice President and COO Pediatric Health Care/Business; Betty Bumpers, Former First Lady of Arkansas; Dr. Jeffrey Kaiser, Neonatal Department UAMS; Dr. Donald R. Bobbitt, President of University of Arkansas System; Dr. Tony Windham, Associate Vice President for Agriculture-Extension, University of Arkansas;  Dr. Wendy Richter, Arkansas History Commission; Susan Kendrick-Perry, Asst. Director of Operations of the Pryor Center; Bobby Pierce, Speaker of the Arkansas House of Representatives; and Bruce Holland, Senate Pro-Temp. 




Elizabeth Hill, (right) UALR Graduate Student, presented her book which she wrote regarding the 100 year history of Arkansas Extension Homemakers, “A Splendid Piece of Work.”  Hill used reports written to the U of A by Home Demonstration Agents/ Extension Agents/FCS Agents (different name through the years) reporting their work with Arkansas families during the 100 years.  She was presented with gifts for her work and made a lifetime member of AEHC.

New Officers elected for the two year term 2012-2014 are shown in picture:  Kaye Green, President, Cleveland County; Mary Fisher, President-Elect, Yell County; Johnette Johnson, Vice President, Montgomery County; Patsy Glover, Secretary, Jefferson County; Carolyn Morris, Treasurer, Yell County; and Phyllis Pipkin, Past President, Garland County and (not shown) Karen Bell-Fox, Cleveland County, Parliamentarian.

Several ladies received service awards for 50 years or more of service as AEHC members. 





Betty Oliver, AEHC Volunteer Coordinator, received a beautiful bouquet of red roses for her 32 years of years of service to Arkansas Extension Homemakers.

We are on YOUTUBE!  A wonderful slide show was made and presented by Jennifer (Daughter of David Jacobs, District Director AEHC Ouachita District) at the closing meeting on Thursday, the 7th.  You can view this slide show of pictures depicting wonderful things happening at the meeting.   After clicking the website address type “AEHC 100 yrs” in the search box.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: